The Regular Board Meeting of the Board of Commissioners for Island Health was called to order by Commissioner Lang at 7:30am on February 27<sup>th</sup> in the Cypress Room of Island Health.

A WebEx option was available for the Regular Board Meeting.

Those present were Commissioners Lynne Lang, PhD, Jan Iversen, Paul Maughan, PhD, Warren Tessler and Chip Bogosian, MD. Also present were Elise Cutter, CEO, Galina Gandy, CIO, Margo Yates-Williams, Interim CNO, Rachel Mank, DO, Chief of Staff, Kim Graf, Executive Business Manager, and Courtney Kuhlmeier, Administrative Specialist.

Not Present: Jason Hogge, MD, CMO

### **Public Comment:**

No public comments were made.

# **February Spotlights:**

Elise was pleased to introduce Yvonne Alsbury, M. Ed, SPHR, SHRM-SCP. Yvonne recently joined Island Health as the Executive Director of Talent Management. Yvonne expanded on her personal and professional experience. All in attendance welcomed Yvonne to Island Health.

Elise was pleased to introduce Jeffrey Clemons, MD FACOG. Jeffrey recently joined Island Health as a Urogynecologist & Pelvic Reconstructive Surgeon at Island Surgeons. Dr. Clemons expanded on his personal and professional experience. All in attendance welcomed Dr. Clemons to Island Health.

Marta McClintock, Executive Director Island Health Foundation, presented to the Board a 2024 Foundation year-end update, highlighting the following:

- Foundation Team and Executive Committee
- What We Do
- Fundraising in 2024
- What Was Funded in 2024
- On The Horizon 2025

Commissioner Iversen commended Marta for her outstanding contributions in the community pulse parties. She praised Marta's hard work and dedication, noting that her efforts have had a significant and positive impact on new patient enrollments.

## **Board Quality & Patient Safety:**

Jon Scallan provided an overview of the January Board Quality and Management Review Committee Meeting, highlighting the following:

- Overview of 2024 goals, with a 67% completion rate achieved to date
- 2025 target goals

### **Medical Staff Report:**

Dr. Mank provided an update on the following Medical Staff Committees:

- Quality Assurance
- Emergency Department
- Credentials and Bylaws
- Department of Medicine
- OB/Peds

# **Credentials:**

After review and discussion, Commissioner Bogosian made a motion to approve the Credentials list as presented. Commissioner Maughan seconded the motion. Commissioners Lang, Bogosian, Iversen, Tessler and Maughan all voted aye, and the motion carried.

Kim Graf presented to the Board a provider recruitment update, highlighting:

- 2025 Recruitment Efforts
- Upcoming Onboarding
- Networking & Retention

## **Reports/Discussions:**

After review and discussion, Commissioner Bogosian made a motion to approve the Orcas Term Sheet as presented. Commissioner Maughan seconded the motion. Commissioners Lang, Bogosian, Iversen, Tessler and Maughan all voted aye, and the motion carried.

Elise Cutter provided an update to the board, highlighting the following:

- CFO selection
- Ongoing CNO search
- Master Facilities Plan Progress

Laura Maroney, Director of Marketing & Communications, provided the board with a update on Levy campaign highlighting the following:

- Internal Communication
- External Communication
- Pro Committee Tactics

Jon Scallan presented to the board an update on the Da Vinci 5 surgical robot, highlighting the following:

- Delivery
- Timeline For Implementation
- Anticipated Go-Live Date

## **Consent Agenda:**

After review and discussion, Commissioner Maughan made a motion to approve the Consent Agenda. Commissioner Iversen seconded the motion. Commissioners Lang, Bogosian, Iversen, Tessler and Maughan all voted aye, and the motion carried.

#### **Action Items:**

- Amend the Island Health By-Laws. 06272024
- Send a formal letter of appreciation from the Board of Commissioners to the IHF for their support and contributions.

## **ADJOURNMENT**:

There being no	further h	business,	Commissioner	Lang called	for the	meeting to	be adjour	ned at
9:25am.				_			-	

Lynne Lang, PhD President/Commissioner	Jan Iversen, Commissioner			
Paul Maughan, PhD Secretary/Commissioner	Warren Tessler, Commissioner			
Chip Bogosian, MD Commissioner				